Friday May 5, 2023

Felix Linden named OKCPS District Teacher of the Year

Felix Linden named OKCPS District Teacher of the Year

Stars of Education event honored OKCPS Teacher of the Year finalists

and other award winners for 2022-23 school year


OKLAHOMA CITY (May 4, 2023) – The Oklahoma City Public Schools Foundation and Oklahoma City Public Schools (OKCPS) have named Felix Linden as the 2023 Oklahoma City Public Schools District Teacher of the Year. The winner was announced during the Stars of Education event on May 4.

Linden has been teaching at Oklahoma City Public Schools for 13 years and is currently the English Language Arts teacher at FD Moon Middle School. He was honored as this year’s winner after receiving the highest scores from the panel of judges for his written application, interview and classroom lesson evaluation.

“As a teacher, I get a chance to change the future, and that’s a responsibility I take really seriously,” said Linden. “I’ve been blessed to do some bold things in education, working to give my students access to opportunities that they may not have otherwise and to make the world a better place for them and their families. I thank God for planting seeds in the form of ideas in my life and giving me the talents to make those things come to fruition.”

“Congratulations and thanks to all of my fellow finalists,” Linden added. “I’m forever grateful to be included in the same group as these extraordinary educators.”

As the OKCPS District Teacher of the Year, Linden received a cash award from the Oklahoma City Public Schools Foundation, a watch from BC Clark and the use of a new car for one year from Fowler Automotive. Linden will represent the district in the Oklahoma State Teacher of the Year competition.

“Felix and our other Teacher of the Year finalists represent just a fraction of the incredible teachers who call OKCPS home,” said Mary Mélon-Tully, President and CEO of The Oklahoma City Public Schools Foundation. “We are proud that our Stars of Education Awards program allows us to highlight the impact that these educators have on the lives of thousands of students every day. Their dedication is second to none and it is our honor to tell their stories and celebrate them.”

The nine finalists for this year’s award were selected from the district’s site teachers of the year and were also recognized at the Stars of Education event. All nine finalists received a cash award from the OKCPS Foundation and additional prizes from the Oklahoma City Thunder, Sonic, and the Oklahoma Educators Credit Union. The finalists included:

  • Christopher Lance Cudjoe, World History teacher at Star Spencer High School
  • Sherry Dew, US History teacher at Southeast High School
  • Carrie Helm, Leadership teacher at Belle Isle Enterprise Middle School
  • Judith Huerta, ELD Foundations teacher at Taft Middle School
  • Felix Linden, English Language Arts teacher at FD Moon Middle School
  • Faisal Madni, PE Teacher at Shidler Elementary
  • Carsen Moon, Mathematics teacher at Classen SAS High School at Northeast
  • Emily Riley, 1st Grade teacher at Kaiser Elementary
  • Lisa Ummel-Ingram, English Language Arts teacher at Wheeler Middle School

“The Stars of Education Awards is one of my favorite nights of the year as it is an opportunity to celebrate OKCPS educators and other community partners who are truly making a difference in our schools,” said Superintendent Sean McDaniel. “Congratulations to Felix and all of our finalists. The passion and commitment that our teachers bring to OKCPS classrooms reaches far beyond a lesson plan, providing our kids with the caring support, stability and inspiration they need to be successful both now and into the future. As Mary often reminds us, schools can’t do it alone, and OKCPS is grateful for the many individuals and partners who stand with and support us in big and small ways each and every day.”

The Sam and Charolet Shirley Outstanding Principal Award winners also were recognized during the Stars of Education. The honorees, John White of Mark Twain Elementary and Chris Gardner of John Marshall Enterprise Middle School, both received a cash award plus $1,000 to use toward Partners in Action projects at their schools.

The Valuable Volunteer and Super Support Staff winners were also recognized during the event. Alicia Clark, volunteer at Nichols Hills Elementary, Angie Holman, volunteer at Coolidge Elementary and Greg Williams, volunteer at US Grant High School were honored as this year’s OKCPS Valuable Volunteers and their schools will receive a $500 award to use toward a Partners in Action project.

Super Support Staff honorees included: Melissa Parker, Pre-K Teaching Assistant at Arthur Elementary; Whitney Puiggari, 1st Grade Teaching Assistant at Nichols Hills Elementary; and Stacy Wehrenberg, Principal’s Secretary at Monroe Elementary. Each received a $500 cash prize from the Foundation.

Two Community Partners of the Year were named during the event as well. Ascent Resources was named the large business honoree and Mach Resources was the winner for the small business category. Britton Christian Church was named the nonprofit/faith-based honoree.

Dick and Glenna Tanenbaum and Fowler Automotive Group are this year’s Stars of Education Diamond event sponsors. American Fidelity, Crossings Community Church, Devon Energy, Love’s Travel Stops and Country Stores, McLaughlin Family Foundation and Sonic Foundation also supported the event as Platinum sponsors.

To learn more about OKCPS and the Oklahoma City Public Schools Foundation, visit and



Created in 1984, the Oklahoma City Public Schools Foundation is a nonprofit organization with a mission to advance excellence, advocate for equity and build strong community support for lasting success in Oklahoma City Public Schools. The Foundation works closely with the district and business community to align strategies and priorities for sustained performance improvement. Please visit us online at for more information on our focus areas and volunteer and giving opportunities.

Media Contact

Beth Harrison | Gooden Group | 405-625-5258 |


Join Us

Be a part of creating success in OKCPS by giving to the Foundation today.