Monday June 29, 2020

OKC Public Schools Wall of Fame nominations open through July 31

Unsung heroes live among us.

They are working in hospitals, at fire and police departments, at grocery stores and as truck drivers. They are volunteering at schools and in their churches. They are leading protests and they are facilitating discussions about race relations in our community. They are everywhere, yet unsung heroes rarely get the thanks or the public recognition they deserve.

The Foundation for Oklahoma City Public Schools 2020 Wall of Fame program is aiming to change that. The program has a long history of honoring high profile, accomplished Oklahoma City Public Schools alumni from across the country and world.

Honorees over the years have included Vince Gill, Cliff Hudson, Wayne Coyne, Aubrey McClendon, Lou Kerr and Kathy Taylor, to name just a few. The impressive list of inductees is truly a distinguished group of individuals who have contributed greatly to their professions and in their communities.

This year is different in so many ways. The pandemic has made travel and celebration galas difficult. The conversations surrounding public health, the economy and race relations are ongoing and the reflective mood most of us are in has created the perfect opportunity to look with new eyes at the 36th annual Wall of Fame.

Nominations are being accepted through July 31 for the 2020 Wall of Fame honorees, with the mission of recognizing local, unsung heroes that are OKCPS alumni. Instead of at the traditional gala, they will be honored through a variety of print, broadcast, digital and social channels. Each honoree will also be awarded a medallion and a $500 cash prize.

Additional nomination criteria can be found here:

This year feels different in just about every way. Honoring local Oklahoma City Public Schools Alumni working every day to make the community better just feels right.

Read Mary Mélon’s original Oklahoman editorial.

Join Us

Be a part of creating success in OKCPS by giving to the Foundation today.